Updated list of high risk countries and restrictions for international travel in/out of South Africa


Updated list of high risk countries and restrictions for international travel in/out of South Africa

International travel for business and leisure purposes resumed on 1 October 2020 with restrictions in place. Travel is restricted from countries with high infection rates. The list of high risk countries is subject to change as data is reviewed on a fortnightly basis.

Travel for leisure purposes from high risk countries is not permitted. Only high skill visa holders, investors in the economy and Diplomats will be allowed entry into South Africa from high risk countries with the necessary approvals in place.

The countries considered as high risk are listed HERE

Travellers from the African continent will be permitted entry for business and leisure purposes, however will need to comply with the necessary entry requirements. South Africans are permitted to travel freely as mentioned during the ministerial brief on 30 September, however will be required to check the entry requirements of the country they wish to travel to. There are still many entry restrictions and border closures that remain in effect globally. Any returning South African citizens and residents will be subject to entry regulations and protocols and may be required to enter quarantine.

Travellers will only be permitted to travel to/from OR Tambo International Airport, Cape Town International Airport and King Shaka Airport. 

The following entry requirements came into effect as of 1 October 2020:

  • Travellers entering South Africa will need to produce a negative PCR test, to be presented on arrival and not older than 72 hours from the time of departure from the country of origin.
  • The PCR test produced must be from a certified medical practitioner and the name and signature of the practitioner who conducted the test must be visible.
  • All travellers are to complete a Traveller Health Questionnaire prior to arrival or upon arrival at all ports of entry.
  • Travellers will be screened at all ports of entry and will also be screened for contact with people who have tested positive with COVID-19.
  • Travellers will need to provide addresses of where they will reside in South Africa in the event that they may need to self-isolate.
  • Should a COVID-19 test not be presented, passengers will be required to enter mandatory quarantine for ten (10) days at their own cost. All travellers will be screened and should they display symptoms, they will be required to enter and remain in quarantine at a facility identified by the state and at their own cost.
  • Antigen testing will be rolled out at ports of entry should a negative PCR test not be presented. The cost of the antigen test will be covered by the traveller.
  • It is vital that travellers have mandatory travel insurance.
  • All travellers will be required to download the COVID Alert SA App.
  • The Department of Home Affairs will extend the validity of visas legally issued which may have expired during the lockdown period. These visas will be extended until 31 January 2021 for those already in South Africa.

Should you have any questions, please contact your dedicated Travel Manager or contact us HERE

Further information related to COVID-19 and risk-adjusted strategies for South Africa can be found HERE

Please visit our Travel News website HERE for the latest traveller updates and news. 

Take your travel programme to the next level. Talk with our experts.

By proceeding, I agree to the website terms of use and to my personal information being handled in accordance with the privacy policy.